

Murray State's Digital Commons

Board of Regents Meeting Minutes

Digitized Collections

1-31-1972 12:00 AM

1972-01-31 & 1972-02-01

Board of Regents, Murray State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.murraystate.edu/borminutes

Recommended Citation

Board of Regents, Murray State University, "1972-01-31 & 1972-02-01" (1972). Board of Regents Meeting Minutes. 389.

https://digitalcommons.murraystate.edu/borminutes/389

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Digitized Collections at Murray State's Digital Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Board of Regents Meeting Minutes by an authorized administrator of Murray State's Digital Commons. For more information, please contact msu.digitalcommons@murraystate.edu.

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF REGENTS MURRAY STATE UNIVERSITY January 31, 1972 - February 1, 1972

The Board of Regents met on call of Chairman Lyman Ginger in special session on January 31, 1972, at 10:00 a.m., C.S.T., in the Lobby of Wells Hall on the campus in the City of Murray, Kentucky. The following members were present: Mr. Joseph M. Whittle, Vice Chairman, presiding; Mr. E. G. Adams, Mr. H. Glenn Doran, Dr. Charles E. Howard, Mr. Graves (Skip) Neale, Dr. M. D. Hassell (non-voting), and Mr. Tom O'Dell (non-voting). Absent were Mr. Harry Lee Waterfield and Chairman Ginger. Also present were Dr. Harry M. Sparks, President of the University, and Mrs. Patsy R. Dyer, Secretary of the Board.

The purpose of the special session was in response to the request of four students appealing the decision of the Faculty Disciplinary Committee to the Board of Regents. The hearing as requested by the students was originally set for January 21. Upon the request of the students' attorneys, Tucker & Schneider, the Hearing was postponed.

The following four students were directed to appear before the Board of Regents for a hearing on the charge of disorderly conduct allegedly committed by them on November 6, 1971, in and around the Student Union Building on the campus of Murray State University:

Michael D. Lowery, 343 North Church Street, Madisonville, Kentucky

Ulysses Parker, 312 North 36th Street, Louisville, Kentucky

James M. VanLeer, c/o Michael D. Lowery, 343 Church Street, Madisonville, Kentucky

James J. Mapp, 514 Terrell Street, Chattanooga, Tennessee

The aforementioned students were represented at the Hearing by Attorney William Allison, 139 South Fourth Street, Room 706, Louisville, Kentucky. Representing the University were Attorneys James Overby and Donald A. Jones. A transcript of the Hearing was made by Mrs. Carolyn Conner, Court Reporter.

The meeting was opened with prayer. Members of the Board, the students, and other interested parties were introduced. Chairman Whittle declared the hearing would be \underline{de} novo and that the hearing was open to the public.

The University proceeded to call its witnesses, and testimony was given.

At 5:00 p.m., the hearing was recessed to convene at 9:00 a.m., on Tuesday, February 1, 1972.

The meeting reconvened at 9:00 a.m., Tuesday, February 1, 1972. The following members of the Board were present: Mr. Joseph M. Whittle, Vice Chairman, presiding; Mr. E. G. Adams, Mr. H. Glenn Doran, Mr. Graves (Skip) Neale, Dr. M. D. Hassell (non-voting), and Mr. Tom O'Dell (non-voting). Chairman Whittle declared a quorum was present.

The transcript of the Hearing by Mrs. Conner was continued.

The University proceeded to call its witnesses, and testimony was given.

Witnesses for the students were called, and testimony was given.

At 5:30 p.m., Chairman Whittle declared the hearing concluded and stated that the Board would recess for one hour and convene in Executive Session for deliberation in the Board Room on the fifth floor of the Administration Building. In compliance with the request of Mr. Allison, the Board agreed to withhold release of the Board's decision until forty-eight hours after Mr. Allison had been notified in writing of the Board's decision.

At 6:30 p.m., the Board convened in Executive Session.

At 9:30 p.m., Chairman Whittle declared the Executive Session ended.

The Board unanimously voted the following penalties for the students:

Michael D. Lowery be and hereby is suspended indefinitely with the privilege of reapplying in writing to the Board of Regents for admission for the Spring Semester 1973.

James J. Mapp be and hereby is expelled.

James M. Van Leer be put on five-day per week social probation for the Spring Semester 1972.

Ulysses Parker be and hereby is suspended with the privilege of reapplying in writing to the Board of Regents for admission for the Fall Semester 1972.

The Board instructed the Secretary to inform Mr. Allison of the Board's decision with a copy of the letter to the respective student.

Upon motion and second the meeting was adjourned.

Chairman

Secretary