Collection Title


Author/Artist Name

Justin MalikFollow


Download Percussion (2.3 MB)

Download Woodwinds (8.6 MB)

Download Strings (9.6 MB)

Download Brass (8.9 MB)

Download Show poster (2.4 MB)

Download Show postcard (36 KB)

Download Mounted on wall (348 KB)

Academic Level at Time of Creation


Date of Creation

Spring 4-26-2019

Artist Statement

When designing my art I like to keep in mind specifically the audience’s reaction when viewing my work. Think of this as the ‘user experience’. If you are using an app on your phone and you quickly realize that the user interface is really bad and you can’t figure out what you’re supposed to do, that is the exact kind of frustration I want to eliminate when people see my work. Keeping that in mind with the fact that I draw a lot of inspiration from the minimalism movement, this is how I develop my designs to a point that makes it pleasing to the eye and easy to understand.

One particular piece of art that always comes to my mind when I think of inspirations is a painting called Composition with Red Blue and Yellow by Piet Mondrian. I love the simplicity of this piece. It’s literally just one big square that is divided up into smaller colored squares and rectangles separated by thick black lines. I find it very aesthetically pleasing to look at and it is what I hope to achieve with my own art.

For this work in particular I made vector illustrations the instruments of the four families of a symphonic orchestra. The thing I love so much about vector illustration is how simple and clean it is. This is the core of what minimalism is to me; taking an object or a subject thing or a thing and reduce it down to as basic as it can be. But even with all that simplification it is still possible to know exactly what that ‘thing’ actually is. And as a nod back to user experience I added in a little secret for the people who look close enough at these pieces.


Jim Bryant; T. Michael Martin


Graphic Design, printed mounted on foamcore, four pieces 18x24 inches