The Kentucky Postsecondary Education Improvement Act of 1997 (HB1) designated funding in support of instructional and applied research programs of distinction at each of the comprehensive institutions in Kentucky. These programs are distinctive because they meet the needs of the Commonwealth by supporting economic development with programs that are in high demand nationally by employers. Programs of distinction include: Kentucky State University-Aquaculture; Eastern Kentucky University-Justice and Safety; Morehead State University-Space Science Center; Murray State University-Telecommunication Systems Management; Western Kentucky University-Applied Research and Technology Program; Northern Kentucky University-Center for Integrative Natural Science and Mathematics.

The undergraduate research projects listed below are participants in the Posters-at-the-Capitol 2017 event.

All Programs of Distinction are represented.


An Analysis of Archival Observations Made of Galactic Supernova Remnants by the Chandra X-ray Observatory

Daniel M. Rush, Morehead State University
Haley E. West, Morehead State University

CricketSat: Space Temperature Measurement Module

Mitchell I. Harris, Murray State University
Saeed Almalki, Murray State University

Eastern Kentucky University's Program of Distinction: Highlighting Research within the Colege of Justice and Safety

Naomi M. Sigler, Eastern Kentucky University
Kayla Tunajek, Eastern Kentucky University

Estrogen Photodegradation Depends on Solvent and Photolysis Wavelength

Cory W. Black, Northern Kentucky University

Polyculture of Pacific white shrimp, Litopenaeus vannamei, and juvenile tilapia, Oreochromis niloticus, in indoor biofloc aquaculture systems

Nathan A. Kring, Kentucky State University

The X-Ray Crystallography Analyses of an Anti-Thyroid Compound: 1-methyl,2-mercaptoimidazol (MMI)

Sherafghan Khan, Western Kentucky University