The Kentucky Postsecondary Education Improvement Act of 1997 (HB1) designated funding in support of instructional and applied research programs of distinction at each of the comprehensive institutions in Kentucky. These programs are distinctive because they meet the needs of the Commonwealth by supporting economic development with programs that are in high demand nationally by employers. Programs of distinction include: Kentucky State University-Aquaculture; Eastern Kentucky University-Justice and Safety; Morehead State University-Space Science Center; Murray State University-Telecommunication Systems Management; Western Kentucky University-Applied Research and Technology Program; Northern Kentucky University-Center for Integrative Natural Science and Mathematics.

The undergraduate research projects listed below are participants in the Posters-at-the-Capitol 2018 event.

All Programs of Distinction are represented.


Analyzing the Effects of NGSS-Aligned Professional Development Sessions on Elementary Teaching Methods

Alyssa Farmer, Northern Kentucky University

Redesign of a Cell Culture System to Investigate the Effects of Microgravity on Cytoskeletal Remodeling in Smooth Muscle

Danielle N. Gibson, Morehead State University
Callie Arnold, Morehead State University
Kaylee M. Whitenack, Morehead State University

Security of the Internet of Things (IoT)

Tyler Williams, Murray State University
Jordan Frantsvog, Murray State University
Saeed Almalki, Murray State University

Theoretical Calculation of the Electron Density Distribution of 1-Methyl-2-Mercaptoimidazole (MMI)

Skyler Trenton Hornback, Western Kentucky University

Utilization of Black Soldier Fly Larvae (Hermetia illucens) in Aquaculture Feed for Nile Tilapia (Oreochromus niloticus) and Bio-waste Recycling

Samuel C. Kessler, Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science, Western Kentucky University